9-12 Take Note

9-12 Take Note

Take Note

An app for that
The Kentucky Department of Education now has its own app that will provide improved communications on education for iPhone, iPad and iPod users.
The free KDE News app is available through iTunes. It gives users access to items housed on KDE’s website, including Kentucky Teacher magazine, messages to superintendents and teachers, headlines, Education Commissioner Terry Holliday’s blog, videos, technology tips from the Kentucky Education Technology System and a photo gallery.

The department is currently developing a similar Windows Mobile version.

Those other elections
KSBA is accepting nominations to serve on its board of directors as directors-at-large. New bylaws now are in effect governing the director-at-large seats, four of which will be up for election this time around.
KSBA President Tom Blankenship of Lincoln County has appointed a selection committee of members of the KSBA board and local school boards who will receive the nominations under newly ratified association bylaws. Any board member can submit their name for candidacy by filling out a nomination form, available at http://www.ksba.org/or by contacting Kathy Amburgey at KSBA.
The bylaws call for the selection committee to make its recommendations based on the information in the nomination form. The selected names are reported to the membership in January prior to full membership vote at the annual business meeting.

Four incumbent directors-at-large are eligible to seek re-election to another three-year term. They are Eddie Cornett of Paintsville Independent, Allen Kennedy of Hancock County, Ann Porter of Mason County and Phyllis Young of Scott County.

Moving forward
The eastern Kentucky education group Forward in the Fifth has honored four people for their efforts to support public education in that region. The group recently presented its 2012 Appalachian Leaders in Education Award to Kelly Bell, principal of Metcalfe County High School, who has worked to improve student achievement at her school; parent volunteer Michelle Combs of Perry County, who volunteers and raises funds for the Hazard Independent school district; Estill County High School student Abbey Alexandra Witt, who is president of the state chapter of the Future Business Leaders of America; and Pike County pharmacist Rob Lester, who helped set up a dual credit program with the University of Pikeville.

Crittenden County’s super start
Staff of the Crittenden County Schools got a “Superhero Welcome” on opening day in a video that featured Superintendent Dr. Rachel Yarbrough, school board members Bill Asbridge, Barrett Belt, Pam Collins, Chris Cook, Phyllis Orr and a variety of staff members decked out in comic book hero costumes, all performing heroic stunts to salute the employees’ work on behalf of students. Created by Holly White and Emily and Melissa Shewcraft, the five-minute video may be viewed on YouTube.
View text-based website