Hancock County leader nominated as president-elect of KSBA; four others recommended to membership as directors-at-large

A two-term member of the Hancock County Board of Education is the nominee to become the next president-elect – and eventually president – of the Kentucky School Boards Association.

Allen E. Kennedy, a member of the KSBA board since 2008 and the Hancock County board since January 2007, has been recommended by the association’s nominating committee led by KSBA Immediate Past President Delmar Mahan.

The committee also nominated local board members from Daviess County, Lawrence County, Robertson County and Newport Independent to fill seats as directors-at-large on the association’s governing body.

A master electrician and certified human resources manager, Kennedy has more than 40 years experience in labor and management representation. He joined KSBA’s board member training cadre in 2012 and represents local school boards on the Kentucky Education Professional Standards Board. During his time on the KSBA Board of Directors, Kennedy has served on the Performance Oversight and Monitoring, Annual Conference Planning, Legislative and Governance committees. He has traveled several times to participate in the National School Boards Association Federal Relations Network conference, meeting with members of the Kentucky Congressional delegation.

Kennedy will follow Durward Narramore of Jenkins Independent, who becomes KSBA president at the conclusion of the association’s annual conference in February. He will serve as president elect for two years before automatically ascending to the association’s top leadership post in 2015.

The nominating committee also recommended the following individuals for election to three-year terms as directors-at-large:

  • Patti Insko, Robertson County
  • Dianne Mackey, Daviess County
  • Ramona Malone, Newport Independent
  • James See, Lawrence County

Under the KSBA bylaws, the nominating committee’s recommendations will go to the full membership for ratification at the association’s annual business meeting Feb. 23 during the 77thKSBA Annual Conference.

The KSBA Board of Directors consists of three officers, 12 directors-at-large and 12 chairpersons for the association’s regions.

Print This Article
View text-based website