Tops in Tech: Thousands of Kentucky students took part in annual STLP State Championships

Allen County, Ashland Independent, Woodford County projects headed for international competition

From the Kentucky Department of Education


More than 6,000 students, educators and parents gathered at the seventh annual Student Technology Leadership Program (STLP) State Championship on March 22 in Lexington.

P-12 students from across the state showed what they know and can do with technology in arts, STEM (science, technology, engineering and mathematics) and many marketable career skills byparticipating in42 different STLP learning categories.

The event empowers students to use technology to problem-solve, create content, learn and achieve. Thousands of adults supported this 21st-century learning event as chaperones, mentors and judges. Read stories written by cyber-reporting students here

Out of nearly 500 projects, three schools were named Best in State in Project Showcase. The three schools will attend the International Society of Technology Education Conference in San Diego in June:

Best in State

Oakview Elementary, Ashland Independent

James E Bazzell Middle, Allen County

Woodford County High

Showcase Project Runners-Up

Hager Elementary, Ashland Independent; Simmons Elementary, Woodford County; Temple Hill Elementary, Barren County; Lone Oak Middle, McCracken County; South Warren Middle, Warren County; Bowling Green High, Bowling Green Independent; West Jessamine High, Jessamine County


Kenny Franks of Shelby County and Phillip Napier of Barren County were named as the first STLP Hall of Fame inductees. Both are alumni of STLP and have continued to mentor and shape the program at local and state levels.

State STLP Coordinator Elaine Harrison Lane received the first annual Lydia Wells Sledge MVP Award from Kentucky Department of Education Associate Commissioner David Couch. The late Lydia Wells Sledge was instrumental in establishing STLP and helped create the foundation for education technology throughout Kentucky’s school districts.

STLP Ambassadors, Champions, Beth Henderson Award, Friends of STLP and other special awards can be found with the 42 category winners by clicking here

Print This Article
View text-based website