Nov. 15 deadline nears for KSBA Friend of Education, Dupree Outstanding Superintendent, First Degree Scholarship, KSBA director at large nominations

Nov. 15 is the last opportunity for placing names into nomination for several KSBA-sponsored recognitions and special programs.

These include:

KSBA Friend of Education Award

This will mark the 28th presentation of the KSBA Friend of Education Award. One award will be presented to an individual, an organization, a business or a corporation in recognition of support for public education in your home community as well as across the state. Board members and superintendents may not be nominated for this recognition. Nominations may come from any district that has not had a nominee selected for the award in 10 years. This selection will be made by the KSBA Board of Directors.

F. L. Dupree Outstanding Superintendent Award

KSBA and the family of the late F.L. Dupree, a local school board member and public education advocate, jointly present this honor. To be eligible, a superintendent must have held the current position since July 1, 2011, and be serving in the post at the time of the award presentation. Nominations are screened by one panel of Dupree past recipients, and then a final selection is made by a different panel of Dupree honorees.

To nominate for these two awards, click here.

Two KSBA First Degree College Scholarships

KSBA will accept applications for First Degree College Scholarships for two Kentucky students. For the sixth consecutive year, the KSBA Board of Directors will fund two $2,500 scholarships for eligible Kentucky high school seniors to attend any two- or four-year accredited college or university. One scholarship each will be awarded to a male and a female student. These nonrenewable scholarships will be paid directly to the institution of higher education upon the recipients’ official admission acceptances.

Eligible students are those who would be the first member of their immediate family (parents, guardians, siblings) to complete degree requirements from an institution of higher education. Eligibility must be affirmed and signed by the high school guidance counselor and the school district's board chairperson and superintendent.

Any Kentucky board of education may nominate up to two students per public school district, one male, one female with a minimum ACT reading score of 20. KSBA will accept the first two eligible application forms per school district (additional applications will be disqualified).

For the nomination forms for this scholarship program, click here.

KSBA Board of Directors – Four director-at-large seats

KSBA members will choose a new president-elect and four members for director-at-large seats on the association board of directors during the 2017 annual conference business session.

Per the association’s bylaws, candidates for the post of president-elect must be a member of the board of directors at the time of his/her nomination. The president-elect serves for two years and automatically becomes president of the association for two years and then immediate past president for two years, assuming the individual continues to hold a local board seat.

Any current Kentucky school board member who also will be serving on a local board in 2017 is eligible to run for a three-year term as director-at-large with the following exceptions:

· No member of the association board may be simultaneously a candidate for more than one office in the same election.

· No local member would be eligible for a KSBA board position simultaneous with that of another member of the same local board already serving on the association board.

KSBA President Allen E. Kennedy has appointed a committee of the association's board of directors to consider nominees for the positions. Ratification of the committee’s selections will take place during the KSBA annual conference business session Saturday, Feb. 25, 2017 in Louisville.

The four director-at-large seats currently are occupied by:

William Owens, Lee County, who is completing his eligibility.

Ronnie Holmes, Graves County, who is eligible to serve a three-year term. He was previously appointed to fill an unexpired term.

Jeff Stumbo, Floyd County, who is eligible to serve a three-year term. He was previously appointed to fill an unexpired term.

A vacant seat due to a previously announced resignation. Nominee also would serve a three-year term.

To submit your self-nomination form, click here.

If you have any questions about the selection process or about service on our board of directors, please feel free to contact KSBA Executive Director Mike Armstrong, Kathy Amburgey or Brad Hughes at 1-800-372-2962.

Print This Article
View text-based website