Congratulations to six joining KDE Next-Generation Student Advisory Council from Beechwood, Bowling Green, Boyd, Jefferson, Magoffin and Taylor districts

From the Kentucky Department of Education

Six Kentucky public high school students have been named to the Next-Generation Student Advisory Council, a group that provides input to Kentucky Commissioner of Education Stephen Pruitt.

These newly selected members will serve for one year:

• Amrit Avula – 10th grade, Bowling Green High School, Bowling Green Ind.

• Roop Patel – 11th grade, Beechwood High School, Beechwood Ind.

• Thomas Patrick – 10th grade, Magoffin County High School

• Kaeli Riggs – 10th grade, Seneca High School, Jefferson Co.

• Wesley Wei – 11th grade, Boyle County High School

• Lauren Williams – 10th grade, Taylor County High School

The six join five returning members:

• Grayson Ford – 11th grade, Trigg County High School

• Kenzy Moore – 12th grade, Russell High School, Russell Ind.

• Deanie Pedigo – 12th grade, Barren County High School

• Emily Salamanca – 12th grade, Henry Clay High School, Fayette Co.

• Benjamin West – 12th grade, Central Hardin High School, Hardin Co.

The council provides feedback from Kentucky students to the commissioner of education and engages student leaders in learning by doing. This group will meet with Pruitt and Kentucky Department of Education staff, both in person and virtually, to discuss how decisions made at the state level are affecting public school students throughout Kentucky and to provide valuable feedback from a student perspective on critical issues impacting Kentucky students and schools.

The council’s first meeting will be Nov. 5 in Frankfort.

The Next-Generation Student Council is a year-long program for Kentucky public school students in grades 10-12. The council comprises a diverse group of students with ideas and thoughtful insight into how public schools and student achievement can be improved.

Print This Article
View text-based website