Voice Recognition

KSBA News Article

Education Briefs

Education Briefs

Kentucky School Advocate
October 2021

Spires appointed to KSBA board of directors  


Fayette Co. Schools board member Stephanie Spires has been named to the KSBA Board of Directors as an at-large member for a term that runs through February 2022. Per KSBA bylaws, association President Davonna Page appointed Spires to the seat previously held by Oldham County board member Kevin Woosley. In July, Woosley was appointed by Gov. Andy Beshear to serve as District 3 magistrate on the Oldham County Fiscal Court.“Stephanie’s expertise and leadership skills have been on full display through her service in Fayette County,” said KSBA Executive Director Kerri Schelling. “We are incredibly excited to welcome her as an at-large member of our board of directors.”

Spires has long been an advocate for public school students, especially those experiencing homelessness and in foster care.

Henry County board hires new superintendent    


Jim Masters, a former principal of Henry County High School, has been named superintendent. Masters was previously director of K-12 Curriculum and Instruction for Franklin County Schools. He was principal of Henry County High School from 2008 to 2012.“It was the most wonderful experience I’ve had in education, because we all came together as a team and improved the school so much over the span of four years and it was due to the amazing staff, students and community,” Masters said.

Masters has worked at the Kentucky Department of Education as a Highly Skilled Educator and was an assistant principal at Georgetown Middle School. He has also served as a social studies teacher and basketball coach at Second Street School, Danville High School, Tates Creek High School and Western Hills High School.

Masters holds a bachelor’s degree from the University of Kentucky, a bachelor’s degree in education from Kentucky State University, a master’s degree in education instructional leadership from Eastern Kentucky University and a doctorate in educational leadership from Morehead State University.

Masters told the board that he would only consider applying to be a superintendent for Henry County Schools.

“I have such fond memories of serving as the principal of Henry County High School. The school system is a source of pride for the community, it has great staff members, great students and great people in general here,” he said. “You cannot find a better community than Henry County. I can’t wait to be back here.”

Nelson Co. board member appointed to EPSB  


Gov. Andy Beshear has appointed Diane Berry to the Education Professional Standards Board. Berry has served on the Nelson County school board for eight years and is a member of KSBA’s Board of Directors as regional chairperson for the Fourth Region.She will replace Jessamine County board chairman Steven Scrivner who resigned his seat on EPSB. Berry’s term will end June 30, 2023.

Board members appointed to KDE advisory council
Education Commissioner Jason Glass has appointed four new representatives to fill vacancies on the state’s Local School Board Members Advisory Council (LSBMAC). The new members are Brenda Rose of Whitley County, Johar Rajiv of Muhlenberg County, Ruschelle Hamilton of Breathitt County and Brandon Rutherford of Madison County.

LSBMAC, which meets twice a year, is a chance for state education policy makers to hear how KDE initiatives and decisions impact school boards and districts. Seven members represent the state’s judicial districts and there are six at-large members. The new members join David Webster of Simpson County, Christina Dressler of Bowling Green Independent, Diane Berry of Nelson County, Linda Duncan of Jefferson County, Julia Fischer of Newport Independent, Larry Dodson of Oldham County, Joanna Freels of Shelby County, Carl Wicklund of Kenton County and Charlie Wise of Hardin County.

The council is scheduled to meet Oct. 14.

Print This Article
© 2021. KSBA. All Rights Reserved.