Voice Recognition

KSBA News Article

Take Note

Take Note

Kentucky School Advocate
January 2020

Creasman named KASA Superintendent of the Year  
The Kentucky Association of School Administrators (KASA) named Fleming County Schools Superintendent Brian Creasman as the Superintendent of the Year.

The award is the springboard to the national award given by the American Association of School Administrators in February. As superintendent, Creasman has worked closely with the board of education, school and district administrators and staff, parents and community members, said Rhonda Caldwell, KASA executive director.

“Dr. Creasman has worked tirelessly to move the district forward and provide every child with opportunities to succeed. He leads with passion and has empowered the entire community to ensure its approach is education-first,” Caldwell said. “His selection for this award is confirmation that his leadership is bringing extraordinary results to the students he serves every single day.”

Under Creasman’s leadership, Fleming County has gone from a state assisted district to a high-performing district. The award is presented based on talent and vision in the areas of leadership for learning, communication, professionalism and community involvement.
Photo: Brian Creasman, KASA superintendent of the year, receives the bronze eagle statue as part of the award from American Fidelity’s Rebecca Combs (left) and KASA Executive Director Rhonda Caldwell. (Photo provided by KASA)

Hammers elected to Third Regional chairwoman
Deborah Hammers (right), who has served on Butler County's school board for nine years, was selected as the new Third Regional chairwoman for KSBA’s Board of Directors at the region’s fall meeting. Hammers has worked as an area specialist for the U.S. Department of Agriculture for 27 years and was previously a Zone C representative for Employee Association, which covered 13 states. Hammers is a member of the Chamber of Commerce and is an active supporter of youth organizations within the community.

New directors at large chosen  
A nominating committee of KSBA’s board of directors at its November meeting selected four locally elected school board members to serve as directors at-large. They are: 

• Scott Davison, four years of service as a Rowan County board member, is a professor at Morehead State University. 

• Pamela Morehead, 20 years of service as a Eminence Independent board member, works in patient access at Jewish Hospital. She served as a regional chairwoman the past three years.

• Christine Thompson, first year of service as a Livingston County board member, is executive director at the Paducah/McCracken Senior Center. 

• Kerry Young, 12 years of service as a Warren County board member, is a UPS driver. He served as a regional chairman the past three years. 

The four nominees will be ratified by the general membership at the business session held during KSBA’s annual conference, Feb. 21-23 in Louisville.

Print This Article
© 2021. KSBA. All Rights Reserved.