KSBA Board of Directors election

KSBA Board of Directors election

Three KSBA board members return, along with a new face

Three at-large members of KSBA’s Board of Directors will be serving a second term, joined by a new member, following elections during the association’s annual business meeting, Feb.1. All will serve a three-year term.

Washington County school board Vice Chairwoman Nora Hatton is the newcomer to the KSBA board.  Hatton is assistant professor and department chair of Business, Management and Computer Information Systems at St. Catharine College and has been a member of the Washington County board since 2003.

She previously served as the director of Institutional Research and Effectiveness at St. Catharine’s College and has experience owning, managing and consulting for small businesses. Hatton holds a bachelor’s degree from Alice Lloyd College, a Master of Business Administration degree from Morehead State University and has done doctoral studies in education policy and evaluation at University of Kentucky.

Hatton is the faculty representative on the St. Catharine College Board of Trustees and has been active in campus-wide committees, community projects and fundraisers, PTO and her church. She also served as secretary-treasurer of the Kentucky Association for Institutional Research.

At-large board members who are returning for a second term are:

David Webster, chairman of the Simpson County Board of Education and a school board member since 2007. Webster is the owner of Tent Time Rentals and a graduate of Warren Central High School. His work experience also includes owning a Bowling Green boat dealership and managing a modular home dealership, as well as working for Southern Kentucky Community Action.

Webster is president of the Portland Association of Sunday Schools and has served as trustee and Sunday School superintendent of his church. He is a member of the Franklin-Simpson Chamber of Commerce.

William A. Owens, who has been a member of the Lee County school board since 1991 and currently serves as its chairman. Owens is a pastor and director of the Kentucky Mountain Mission and director of Youth Haven Bible Camp.  He is a graduate of Clay County High School and Southland Bible Institute. 

Owens previously served as Upper Kentucky River Regional Chairperson on the KSBA board and recently was appointed to the Kentucky School Curriculum, Assessment and Accountability Council.

Owens’ community activities include serving as a board member of People Encouraging People and the Lee County Ethics Committee.  He also served on the Lee County Strategic Planning Committee and was chief of the Bear Track Volunteer Fire Department.

Ann Combs Gaines, a member of the Pineville Independent Board of Education since 2002. She currently is its chairwoman. Gaines is a veterinarian at Bell County Animal Clinic and an alumna of Pineville High School. She holds an undergraduate degree from Western Kentucky University and her veterinary medicine degree from Auburn College of Veterinary Medicine.

Gaines is a lifelong member of St. Anthony Catholic Church and board member of the Red Bird Mission.  She also has served as a board member of the Bell County Health Department, Bell County Community Development and Kentucky Mountain Laurel Festival. Gaines also owns a Pineville coffee shop.

View text-based website