0313 First Degree Scholarship

0313 First Degree Scholarship

First Degree Scholarship winners announced

Students from Estill County and Green County are winners of the second annual KSBA First Degree Scholarship Program. The honorees, Estill County High School senior Kevin Haney and Green County High School senior Taylor Russell, were announced at KSBA’s annual conference. The award was established by the KSBA Board of Directors to help make postsecondary education possible for two students, one male and one female, who will be the first in their family to go on to college. Each will benefit from a $2,500 award.

Haney will attend the University of Kentucky and expects to major in computer science. He has worked for the school district as its student technology worker for the past six years and is an active member of the National Beta Club and Kentucky Future Business Leaders of America.

Russell is an active member of the local Health Occupation Students of America and a member of the marching band.  Taylor is currently enrolled in the Medicaid nurse aid program at the local area technology center and plans to pursue a nursing career at Lindsey Wilson College.

View text-based website