Page 4

Page 4

Page 4


Down to the wire

All 11 Kentucky school board members in danger of removal for not meeting 2010 training hour requirements were able to squeeze in some professional development just under the wire. They had been given a July 31 deadline by Education Commissioner Terry Holliday to fulfill the requirements or be reported to the attorney general’s office. The state board of education directed Holliday to take that action.

The 11 local board members, whose credit shortages ranged from a quarter of a credit hour to four hours, made up that gap with locally approved training, said KSBA Board Team Development Director Kerri Schelling.

Pinnacle power

Deborah Frazier, assistant superintendent of finance for Madison County Schools, was named a 2011 Pinnacle Award winner by the Association of School Business Officials International, a 5,000-member professional group. One of four national winners, Frazier, who is a certified public accountant and school finance officer, was recognized for her Leveraging Leadership program, which bridges the gap between classified employees and students.

Baird takes seat

KSBA Associate Executive Director David Baird has begun his six-year term on the Kentucky School Facilities Construction Commission. Baird is one of eight members on the commission, which assists local school districts with school facility construction and technology funding. It distributes state funds to eligible districts certified by the Kentucky Board of Education. Baird, a former Eminence Independent superintendent, has been KSBA’s associate executive director for five years.

Early childhood race

The 26-member Early Childhood Advisory Council appointed this summer by Gov. Steve Beshear includes school board representation. Marilyn Coffey, a retired educator who is a member of the Casey County Board of Education is serving on the group, which was formed to assist the state in applying for second-round federal Race to the Top funds, which are focused on early childhood education. Beshear also appointed KSBA Executive Director Bill Scott to the council, as well as Madison County Schools Superintendent Tommy Floyd.
More winners

Retired Pike County Superintendent Frank Welch was given the Distinguished Service Award by the Kentucky Association of School Administrators. The award, presented at KASA’s summer conference, recognizes retired or retiring educators for their work throughout their career.

Also at that meeting, Kim Johnson, special education coordinator for Owensboro Public Schools, was named the district-level winner of the Administrator of the Year award, while Tony Patterson, Green County Intermediate School Principal, is this year’s building-level winner of that award. Rick Branham, Title I homeless liaison for the Pike County district, was named the 2011 Fred Award winner, which singles out an individual for commitment and spirit of service. Louellen Turner, administrative assistant for Danville Independent Schools, received the annual award for support personnel.

KASA’s 2011-12 officers also were sworn in at the conference. Mayfield Independent Superintendent Lonnie Burgett is president; Rita Muratalla, principal of Zoneton Middle School in Bullitt County, president-elect; Paul Mullins, principal of LaRue County High School, vice president; and Phyllis O’Neal, principal of Calvert Elementary School in Marshall County, immediate past president.

Picture - Lonnie Burgett, Mayfield Independent Schools superintendent and new KASA president
View text-based website