Interested in a state education leadership role? Place your name in nomination to serve on the KSBA Board of Directors

If you are a school board member who wants to have an impact on the state level, the KSBA Board of Directors has four opportunities for you – but only if you act by Nov. 14.

Four current directors-at-large are completing their terms of eligibility on the KSBA board: Gene Peel of Jessamine County, Linda Duncan of Jefferson County, Jeff Eaton of Allen County and Tina Hasty of Rockcastle County. That means four new directors-at-large will join the board after the association membership ratifies the recommendations of a nominating committee next February.

The KSBA Board of Directors consists of 12 directors-at-large, 12 regional chairpersons, and the three officers – president, president elect and immediate past president.

Under the association bylaws, individuals who want to self-nominate for the director-at-large posts must meet these eligibility requirements:

* Must be a sitting local board member who is eligible to serve at the time of placing her or his name in nomination.

* Must not have another member of his or her local board serving on the association's board.

The KSBA Board of Directors sets association policy, legislative positions and annual budgets, and works closely with the association’s professional staff on issues important to Kentucky’s public elementary and secondary education system. The board meets at least quarterly, with members participating between meetings on various board committees (usually meeting via conference call).

A nominee selection committee has been appointed by President Durward Narramore Jr. of Jenkins Independent. Under the association bylaws, that panel will review the candidate nominations and present a slate of nominees for ratification during the KSBA annual conference business session Feb. 28.

Forms and additional information is available here

Print This Article
View text-based website