KET program to explore impact of year-round high school sports

Submission

On the next edition ofEducation Matters, “Implications of Year-Round High School Athletics,” guests take a look at the impact of year-round sports on students, families, coaches and schools.

In the program, panelists explain the new interpretation of the Kentucky High School Athletic Association's Bylaw 25, which gives school officials the responsibility of deciding whether school coaches can work with athletes during the off season. The panelists also will discuss possible ramifications of the new interpretation, including liability and insurance issues and the effect of playing a single sport all year on students' health and welfare, academics, and extracurricular activities.

Experts appearing on the panel include:

Julian Tackett, commissioner of the Kentucky High School Athletic Association;
 
Dr. Bobby Barton, professor emeritus and former head athletics trainer, Eastern Kentucky University;

Owens Saylor, deputy superintendent, Jessamine County Schools; and

Lea Wise Prewitt, member, Kentucky High School Athletic Association Board of Control.

Here are the broadcast dates, beginning tonight, on the various KET channels:


KET:
Tuesday, March 20 at 9 p.m. ET/8 p.m. CT
KET:Wednesday, March 21 at 3 a.m. ET/2 a.m. CT
KET KY:Wednesday, March 21 at 4 p.m. ET/3 p.m. CT
KET KY:Friday, March 23 at 2:30 p.m. ET/1:30 p.m. CT
KET KY:Saturday, March 24 at 11 a.m. ET/10 a.m. CT
KET KY:Monday, March 26 at 9 a.m. ET/8 a.m. CT
KET KY:Monday, March 26 at 6 p.m. ET/5 p.m. CT

← BACK
Print This Article
View text-based website