Wrapping up the 81st KSBA Annual Conference: Salutes to honorees, coverage in online-only Kentucky School Advocate

The 2017 KSBA Annual Conference is in the history books, and recording of board members’ training credits and analysis of participants’ reviews are underway.

KSBA offers one more word of congratulations to those honored at this year’s conference:

• Warren Proudfoot Outstanding School Board Member Award – Gretchen W. Cole, Somerset Independent Board of Education

• F. L. Dupree Outstanding Superintendent Award – Dr. James Evans, Lee County Schools

• KSBA Friend of Education Award – Jim David Meats, nominated by Union County Schools

• KSBA First Degree College Scholarships – Keith Hughes, Russell County High School and Morgan Phillips, Lee County High School

At the association’s annual business meeting, David Webster of the Simpson County Board of Education succeeded Allen Kennedy of Hancock County as president of KSBA. Learn more about Webster in one of the 15 stories that comprises the conference coverage in the online-only Kentucky School Advocate here. Webster also talks about his goals over the next two years in this month’s KSBA FYI web video, which may be viewed on the homepage of the website here. 

Also during the business session, the following elections to the KSBA Board of Directors were ratified:

• President elect – Charles “Ronnie” Holmes, Graves County
• Directors-at-large – Diane Berry, Nelson County; Bill Robertson, Fulton Independent; Davonna Page, Russellville Independent; and Steve Becker, Danville Independent.

The 2018 KSBA Annual Conference is scheduled for March 2-4 at the Galt House Hotels and Conference Center in Louisville.

Print This Article
View text-based website