Voice Recognition

KSBA News Article

Take Note

Take Note

KSBA names new Unemployment program trustees
KSBA’s Unemployment program, during its October meeting, welcomed several new members to its nine-member board of trustees (appointed by KSBA’s board of directors). New members include Hardin County board member Steve Bland, Taylor County board member David Hall, Rowan County Superintendent Michael Rowe, Madison County board member Brandon Rutherford and Todd County Superintendent Mark Thomas.

The new trustees join a roster that includes Chair Karen Byrd (Boone County board member), Chair-elect Pamela Morehead (Eminence Independent board member), Past Chair Davonna Page (Russellville Independent board member) and Chris McIntyre (Warren County chief financial officer).

KSBA bids farewell to outgoing board members; Larry Dodson (Oldham County board member), Ramona Malone (Newport Independent board member) and Keith Haynes (Cloverport Independent superintendent).

“I personally witnessed their service to KSBA, their local districts and public education, and I am honored to call them colleagues,” said Page. The association is grateful for their time and efforts, she added.

Members of the Unemployment board of trustees have historically been school board members, superintendents and school finance officers. Trustees are charged with the review of financial performance and audit reports, oversight of investments, monitoring of refunds and deficit billings of participants and approval of operations.

To date, 98% of Kentucky’s public school districts participate in KSBA’s Unemployment claims processing service. Learn more at ksba.org/insurance.aspx.


KSBA President-elect honored for volunteer service

KSBA President-elect Pamela Morehead, Eminence Independent Schools board member, was recognized Oct. 5 as an honored volunteer by U of L Health during the 2023 Bell Awards. The Bell Awards, hosted by WLKY News Spirit of Louisville Foundation, recognizes adults and high school youth who have demonstrated the true “Spirit of Louisville” with volunteer efforts and seeks to inspire all residents to engage in community service.

KSBA personnel moves
Eric Kennedy, the association’s director of Advocacy since 2016, served his last day at KSBA on Oct. 27. This month, Kennedy transitions to a new professional challenge that allows him to remain intricately involved in the legislative and legal processes. KSBA staff and board of directors are grateful for his many contributions to the association’s advocacy work and for his leadership and collaboration among education stakeholders statewide.  

After nearly 15 years as KSBA’s chief financial officer, Steve Smith will retire on Dec. 31. Smith came to KSBA as CFO in 2009 following a successful career in the private sector. Under his leadership, the association has maintained healthy liquidity and strong reserves despite periods of economic uncertainty. KSBA’s staff and board of directors wish him the best in retirement and are grateful for his steady leadership, work ethic and contagious optimism.

Leah Herrera, who has served in KSBA’s Finance department since 2006, and as controller since 2010, will begin as the association’s new CFO on Jan. 1. A search for KSBA’s new controller is underway.

KSBA Executive Assistant Beth Pritchett will retire Dec. 13. Since coming to KSBA in 2017, Pritchett has served in multiple administrative roles, including currently as the association’s principal liaison for its board of directors. She also helped oversee a major expansion of KSBA’s student scholarship and grant programs. The association bids Pritchett a fond farewell and thanks her for her hard work and warm spirit.

Access the job descriptions, requirements and online applications for open KSBA positions at ksba.org/Employment.aspx. KSBA is an Equal Opportunity Employer.

KSBA accepting applications for student involvement in 2024 Annual Conference
Students will once again be a centerpiece of the association’s Annual Conference, to be held March 1-3, 2024, in Louisville. KSBA invites districts to showcase their talented students in the following ways:

Student banners: KSBA asks school district to submit student-designed banner artwork for display at the event and in conference materials. Last year, KSBA received banner artwork from 116 districts. Artwork, to be submitted electronically, is also designed to commemorate the annual theme. Banner artwork must be submitted no later than Feb. 14, 2024, to guarantee inclusion in conference displays, the commemorative book, etc.

Student performances: Districts are also encouraged to submit applications for student performances. KSBA regularly provides opportunities for talented Kentucky students to perform during conference general sessions, luncheons and receptions: vocalists, choirs, instrumentalists, bands, etc. Applications must be submitted by Dec. 15. Groups will be notified of acceptance by Jan. 5, 2024, to allow time to make travel arrangements.

For more information, criteria and instructions for these student involvement opportunities, visit KSBA’s Annual Conference page.

KSBA accepting nominations for association’s highest honors
Nominations are open for two of the association’s highest individual honors, each to be awarded at KSBA’s Annual Conference in March.

KSBA encourages districts to nominate their local leaders for the 2024 Kentucky School Board Member of the Year (BMOY) Award. Established in 2021, the BMOY celebrates the service of association members and the critical roles school boards play in the advancement of public education in Kentucky. Honorees are those who have made significant contributions to public education through service on their local boards.

The Kentucky Association of Superintendents’ Administrative Assistants (KOSAA) is now accepting nominations for the 2024 KOSAA KUP award. The KUP (Knowledge, Understanding and Passion) award was established in 2022 and is presented annually to an individual who exemplifies best practices, advocates for needs of her/his district, demonstrates the highest ethical standards, celebrates the values of public service and engages in KOSAA events.

Nominations for these awards must be submitted by Dec. 15. Criteria and online nomination forms are available at ksba.org/KSBAAwardsPrograms.aspx. Both the 2023 KOSAA KUP and the 2024 Kentucky School Board Member of the Year awards are sponsored by American Fidelity.

Print This Article
© 2024. KSBA. All Rights Reserved.